Meghalaya: Total 443 candidates file nominations for Assembly polls

Meghalaya: Total 443 candidates file nominations for Assembly polls

By Our Reporter, TNT News | Shillong, Feb 07, 2018: 

A total of 443 candidates have filed their nomination papers to contest the ensuing Assembly polls in the state scheduled to be held on February 27.

As many as 130 candidates filed their nomination papers on the last day of filing of nomination on Wednesday including Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma, who filed his second nomination from Songsak today.

Yesterday chief minister had filed nomination for Ampati constituency, his home turf, where he will be contesting against BJP’s Bakul Hajong.

Prominent candidates who filed their nominations today include — Meghalaya speaker Abu Taheer Mondal of Congress for Phulbari Constituency, sitting MLA Clement Marak of Congress for Selsella constituency, sitting independent MLA Ashahel D. Shira for Rajabala constituency, sports and youth affairs minister Zenith Sangma for Rangsakona constituency and his wife sitting MDC and chairman of Garo Hills Autonomous District Council Sadhiarani M. Sangma for Gambegre constituency, former legislator Manas Chaudhuri of Congress for South Shillong constituency.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya: Mukul files nomination for Songsak; predicts 40 seats for the Congress

BJP ticket aspirants from Garo Hills — Chiang D. Shira and party state vice president Edmund Sangma, who were denied party tickets, filed their nomination as independent candidates. Meanwhile, they had also submitted their resignation letter to BJP state president Shibun Lyngdoh prior to filing of nominations.

In West Khasi HIlls, a total number of ten candidates filed their nominations on Wednesday. The sitting KHADC MDCs and PDF candidates who filed their nominations include L.G. Nongsiej from Nongstoin, Morningstar Mawsor from Mawshynrut and Blandingstar warjri from Mawthadraishan. The sitting UDP MLA from Mairang, Metbah lyngdoh also filed his nomination.

Meanwhile, the BJP received another blow as the state vice president Edmund K Sangma resigned from the party and filed his nomination as an independent candidate for the Raksamgre seat in Garo Hills.  Sangma was denied a party ticket for the seat and the same was allotted to jonathon rabha.

On the first day of filing nominations just four candidates filed their papers, who included Ampareen lyngdoh for the East Shillong seat. Five candidates filed the next day and 16 nominations were received on Friday and 28 on Saturday.

On Monday last, 107 nomination papers were received from the state. On Tuesday 153 candidates filed their nomination across the state. Some of the candidates filed two nominations for the same seat.

Unlike the previous days, the atmosphere in Khasi Hills on the last day of filing of nomination was more or less subtle.

The Scrutiny of Nominations will be done on February 8, Withdrawal of Nomination: February 12, Polling Date: February 27 and Counting of Votes Date: March 3.

This year’s elections is expected to be an exciting battle with predictions and assumptions all pointing towards the Congress’s downfall and the rise of the NPP-BJP alliance in the state.

However, with politics being an unpredictable game, nothing is certain.




Related Posts