Meghalaya Polls: BJP uncertain about 2nd list of candidates for 15 remaining seats

Meghalaya Polls: BJP uncertain about 2nd list of candidates for 15 remaining seats

By Our Reporter, TNT News | Shillong, Feb 04, 2018: 

Just three days left for the candidates to file their nominations papers, it is unlikely that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will be releasing the second list of candidates anytime soon. However, it was informed that confirmation on whether the party will come out with the second list or not, will be known only tomorrow.

The BJP had on Friday, released the first list of 45 candidates who will be contesting the ensuing Assembly polls in Meghalaya featuring names of prominent leaders like former congress legislator AL Hek who will be contesting from Pynthorumkhrah constituency and former NCP state party chief Sanbor Shullai who will contesting from South Shillong.

However, it is unclear whether the BJP will be fielding candidates in the remaining 15 seats — 9 in Khasi-Jaintia Hills and 6 in Garo Hills.

BJP national spokesperson Nalin Kohli told TNT-The Northeast Today that at present, reports stating that the BJP will not field anymore candidates for the ensuing polls is are but rumours, though he said that they are not certain whether the party is introducing any new candidates or not.

ALSO READ:Meghalaya: BJP announces first list of 45 candidates for ensuing Assembly Polls; Final list to come in day or two

“We are not sure because we have given the assessment of the almost 60 seats to the central leaders and they have already come out with the list of 45 names,” Kohli said.

Furthermore, the BJP leader said that they will come to know about the same only by tomorrow  adding that today being a Sunday, “obviously the PM and all re not available.”

The BJP is looking to open an account in Meghalaya and it is likely that the party will manage to do so and this can be analysed from the recently declared list of 45 candidates, whose winability factor is very high.

Some of theprominent candidates in the list include former Power Minister Riang Lenon Tariang, former Sports and Youth Affairs Minister, Billykid Sangma, former Food and Civil Supplies Minister John Antonius Lyngdoh, former Congress legislator P.W.Khongjee and former Excise Minister K.C.Boro.

Meanwhile, the Congress will release the second list of candidates for the 3 remaining seats by Monday. The first list of 57 candidates was released last week.






Related Posts