Manipur Election Results: Sharmila loses her maiden election in Manipur!

Political debutant and founder of the Peoples’ Resurgence and Justice Alliance Irom Sharmila has lost election in Thoubal, Manipur, to Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, say reports on Saturday. Earlier in the day, ‘Iron Lady’ of Manipur, Sharmila said she is not much affected by the exit poll result, adding that in case of her defeat she will try again in the 2019 General Election.

According to CNN-News 18, Irom Sharmila, contesting the election as a candidate of her People’s Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA), lost to Congress candidate Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh in Thoubal constituency.  PTI reported that Sharmila picked up only 26 votes in Thoubal, which is the home constituency of the chief minister.



“I do not feel much affected by the result. It depends upon the people’s mindset. I don’t feel much affected by it, because people can still change their minds and everybody knows muscle and money power is being openly used by parties,” she told ANI.

As of 10.5 am, The BJP was leading in Konthoujam, Chandel and Thangmeiband, while the Congress is leading in Lilong.  The Naga People’s Front is leading in Mao (ST) Assembly seat.

TNT News