DID YOU KNOW- Facts about Cyclone ‘Mora’ that struck Northeast India, Bangladesh and Myanmar !

DID YOU KNOW- Facts about Cyclone ‘Mora’ that struck Northeast India, Bangladesh and Myanmar !

May 30, 2017: The Bay of Bengal is prone to storms and Bangladesh is often hit by severe weather during the monsoon season, from the middle to the end of the year. A cyclone dubbed Mora, also known as Cyclone Mora, hit the southern coastal areas of Bangladesh on Tuesday morning. According to the Bangladesh Meteorological Agency, Cyclone Mora is expected to make heavy landfall near the southeastern tourist city of Cox’s Bazar and the seaport city of Chittagong. The Northeast Indian region as well as Myanmar have come under the influence of this cyclone.

In case you did not know, here are five facts you need to know about cyclone Mora:

#1 Under the influence of a persistent area of convection, a low pressure area formed over southeast Bay of Bengal on 26 May. It rapidly strengthened on 28 May ans in the early hours of 29 May, the IMD reported the storm to have reached Cyclonic storm intensity, naming it Mora.

#2 ‘Mora’ is a Thai word. The word meaning ‘star of the sea’ Bangla is the ‘sea star’.

#3 Six cyclone names are scheduled to be named in the meeting of the ESCAP and WMO cyclone specialist panel in Thailand in January this year. The first cyclone hit the coast of India on 17th April, in poor condition. The next cyclone was named Mora.

#4  Tropical cyclone warnings and watches were issued for the states of Mizoram, Nagaland, Manipur and Tripura as well as four districts in Odisha.

#5 City-wide, 500 shelters were opened. Authorities attempted to evacuate 1 million people prior to landfall, though as of May 29, only 300,000 had eventuated.

Last year, India faced four cyclonic storm namely Roanu, Kyant, Nada and Vardah. In 2014, cyclone Cyclone Hudhud created a buzz, with people wondering how these storms were being named.

The practice of naming cyclones began years ago in order to help identify them as the technical terms are hard to remember. Since 1953, Atlantic tropical storms have been named from lists originated by the National Hurricane Center in USA. To name cyclones in the Indian subcontinent and South East Asian regions, eight countries – India, Bangladesh, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand – made an agreement and formed a list of names. The list has 64 names. Each country has given eight names. When a cyclone occurs in the Arabian Sea and Bay of Bengal, a name is picked from the list in a particular order.

The current cyclone is named Mora which is contributed by Thailand in the list. India recommended Agni, Akash, Bijli, Jal (cyclones which have all occurred since 2004).

TNT News with inputs from Internet sources



Related Posts