Tripura Election 2018: Country-made bomb recovered from Banamalipur constituency; No clash reports


Agartala, February 18, 2018

Voting in 59 seats of Tripura's 60-seat assembly began at 7 am today.

A countrymade bomb was recovered from an empty plot in Banamalipur constituency at 10 AM today. Superintendent of police (control) Pradip De said it was a petty bomb. Bomb squad was dispatched. However no incident of clash was reported from anywhere till latest reports. Reports of EVM malfunctions came in from several polling stations since morning in Tripura.

Polling in Charilam constituency has been postponed to March 12 after the death of Communist Party of India (Marxist) or CPI(M) candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma. The Election Commission ha set up 3,174 polling stations in Tripura; 47 of them are being managed by women. A total of 292 candidates, including 23 women, will fight the closely-watched contest today. The Left Front and the BJP have fielded candidates for all the seats while Congress will contest all but one seat. With almost 47,803 new voters and 11 third-gender voters, almost 26 lakh people are eligible to vote today. The results will be out on March 3, the same day when results of the Meghalaya and Nagaland assembly elections will also be announced. 13% voter turnout has been recorded in early voting.

Here are the Live Updates for Tripura Assembly Polls

Voters queue up in front of a polling station at Dhaleswar area in Bananalipur Assembly Constituency. The assembly seat is expected to have one of the most tight poll battles. In a clash of titans, BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb has taken on Congress legislative party leader Gopal Chandra Roy and young CPIM candidate Amal Chakraborty at the same go here.