Surprises and disappointments mark result day in Meghalaya


By Our Reporter, TNT News | Shillong, March 03, 2018: 

This year's results witnessed many interesting turn of events with many veteran politicians and sitting MLAs suffering defeat while many unexpected candidates rising to the occasion only to be crowned winners. All thanks goes to the electorates!

Known faces and key contenders like Home Minister HDR Lyngdoh (INC) from Sohiong, PN Syiem (PDF) from Mawsynram, Rowell Lyngdoh (NPP) from Mawkyrwat, Salseng Marak (INC) from Resubelpara, MPCC Chief Celestine Lyngdoh (INC) from Umsning, Paul Lyngdoh (UDP) from West Shillong, Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit (HSPDP) from Nongkrem, Justine Dkhar (NPP) from Khliehriat, Embhahlang Syiemlieh (UDP) from Meghalaya's largest constituency– Mawlai, Kennedy Khyriem (INC) from Mawphlang, Ronnie V Lyngdoh (INC) from Mylliem and Ngaitlang Dhar (NPP) from Umroi besides others.

On the other hand, dynastic politics remained intact in Meghalaya. The Sangmas' family both Mukul and James Sangma managed to retain their bastion.

Meanwhile, the all-time people's favourites — Sanbor Shullai and AL Hek, both from BJP managed to sweep victory in their respective constituencies — South Shillong and Pynthorumkhrah and while it was an easy win for the former, Hek had to struggle his way to the top and was nearly at the verge of losing at one point of time.

ALSO WATCH: MEGHALAYA: HSPDP Ardent's supporters weep inconsolably following his defeat

Mukul Sangma won both two seats — Songsak and Ampati, his wife Dikkanchi D Shira retained Mahendraganj, his brother Zenith Sangma retained Rangsakona and his wife, a new contender tasted victory in Sadhiarani Sangma lost to NCP supremo Saleng A Sangma.

Coming to the other Sangma's family — James K Sangma retained Dadenggre while his sister, Agatha Sangma, who is also a former MP, tasted victory in South Tura.

ALSO READ: Meghalaya Election results: Live update – Final Tally

If we take a closer look at Nongkrem constituency, the Lion's roar was silenced and the HSPDP stronghold is now home to Independent candidate–Lambor Malngiang who took everyone by surprise. While Malngiang's supporters are rejoicing, Ardent Miller Basaiawmoit house was filled with bitterness, shock and disappointment as women supporters were seen weeping inconsolably.

Meanwhile, the unexpected winners in this election include — PT Sawkmie (INC) from Mawlai, Mohindro Rapsang (INC) from West Shillong, Hamlet Dohling (PDF) from Mylliem, Samlin Malngiang (HSPDP) from Sohiong, Independent candidate Lambor Malngiang from Nongkrem, Jason Sawkmie Mawlong (PDF) from Umsning and Timothy Shira (NPP) from Resubelpara.

Here is the final tally: