Meghalaya: UDP releases first list of 2018 poll candidates


SHILLONG, Sept 07, 2016: The United Democratic Party (UDP) Central Executive Committee (CEC) on Thursday released the first list of party candidates who would contest the upcoming 2018 Assembly elections.

"We have released a total number of 28 candidates in the first list. We are likely to release the second list of party candidates by this coming October,"  UDP president, Dr Donkupar Roy told newsmen after the meeting of the CEC.

Dr Roy said that a total number of 18 candidates have been released in the Khasi-Jaintia Hills region adding that a total number of 10 candidates will contest from the party ticket from Garo Hills region.

Among the prominent names featured in the list includes the eight sitting legislators of the party- Dr Donkupary Roy (Shella contituency), Paul Lyngdoh (Shillong West constituency), Embhahlang Syiemlieh (Mawlai constituency), Jemino Mawthoh (Nongthymmai constituency), Titosstarwell Chyne (Sohra constituency), H Brolding Nongsiej (Mawthadraishan constituency), Metbah Lyngdoh (Mairang constituency) and Remington Pyngrope (Mawkynrew constituency).

The list also included the three sitting MDCs of the party- Donkupar Sumer (Umsning constituency), Rona Khymdeit (Nongpoh constituency) and Moonglight Pariat (Jowai constituency).

Besides the sitting MLAs and MDCs of the party, the list also included former Deputy Chief Minister, Bindo Mathew Lanong (Shillong East constituency) and two former Ministers- Nidhuram Hajong (Mahendraganj constituency) and Nimarson Momin (Salmanpara constituency).

Meanwhile, there are new faces  which featured in the list — former FKJGP president, Joe Marwein (Shillong North constituency), Kyrmen Shylla (Khliehriat constituency), First Force Deki Ramsiej (Umroi constituency), Olan Suin (Mawsynram constituency), Savio Iawphniaw (Mawshynrut constituency), Pius Marwein (Ranikor constituency), Luderburg Ch Momin (Kharkutta constituency), Arun N Marak (Songsak constituency), Bartush R Marak (Rongjeng constituency), Mahamsing M Sangma (Williamnagar constituency), Pillarson G Momin (Raksamgre constituency), Kabul A Sangma (Selsella constituency), Utpal Arengh (North Tura constituency) and Pallab D Areng (South Tura constituency).

TNT News