Manipur: All four TMC MLAs join Congress


IMPHAL: All four MLAs of the Trinamool Congress, including TMC state President Thounaojam Shyamkumar, joined the ruling Congress in Manipur on Sunday.

Shyamkumar said: "We took the decision to leave the TMC as the national leaders have neglected us. We have to consolidate our position since we are accountable to the people."

"The demand for implementation of the Inner Line Permit has been disrupting normal life in Manipur. Ten persons have been killed… Despite our requests, TMC MPs refused to take up the issue in Parliament. It shows the party has no concern for the people of Manipur," he said.

In 2012, six Trinamool candidates were elected to the Manipur assembly. Three of them were disqualified by Speaker Thokchom Lokeshwar Singh in 2015. But one was allowed to attend the house.

The decision of the four MLAs to join the Congress comes as a morale booster to the party after a Congress MLA, Yumkham Erabot, joined the BJP on September 12.