All eyes on Northeast as Meghalaya, Tripura & Nagaland gear up for Election Results 2018!


New Delhi, March 2, 2018: The results of Assembly elections in the three northeastern states that went to polls last month — Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland — will be declared tomorrow on March 3. Ahead of the elections results, political parties in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland were chalking strategies to forge a post-poll alliance if the outcome is not desirable. All the three states have 60-member assemblies each but elections were held in 59. A party or coalition needs more than 30 legislators to form the government.

In Tripura, the main contest seems to be between the ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which tied up with Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT). The Congress, a major force till a few years ago, is unlikely to emerge as the principle opposition. While an exit poll predicted victory for the BJP alliance, ending the 25-year run of the Left Front in the state, another forecasted a close fight between the two parties.

In Meghalaya, no party, not even the Congress that won the record 29 seats in the last Assembly polls, had ever got majority seats. The BJP hopes to come to power with help from the National People's Party (NPP), which is expected to win around 20 seats. Although the Conrad Kongkal Sangma-led party did not get into a pre-poll alliance with the BJP, the two are understood to have entered into an understanding with each other and are most likely to form the government in Meghalaya. The saffron party had no MLA in the last polls.

The BJP, in Nagaland, shunned its over a-decade-and-a-half old ally NPF and joined forces with newly floated Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). All the exit polls have predicted exactly the same result and given BJP+ between 27-32 seats, Naga People's Front (NPF) 20-25 seats and Congress between 0-2 seats. Both the NDPP-BJP alliance and the ruling NPF have expressed confidence about winning the elections. The ruling party has kept its options open to tie-ups with NPP, JD (U) and Independents to cross the figure of 30.

Source: Agencies