Manipur Results: Tables likely to turn in favour of saffron party, BJP neck-to-neck with Congress

Manipur Results: Tables likely to turn in favour of saffron party, BJP neck-to-neck with Congress

The Congress Party is leading in Manipur and had already sealed eleven seats —  Tipaimukh, Thangmeiband, Nambol, Lilong, Karong, Khundrakpam, Thoubal, Patsoi, Tengnoupal and Bishnupur. BJP has won in eleven seats — Konthouja, Khurai, Lamsang, Naoriya Pakhanglakpa,Kshetrigao,Churachandpur,Kangpokpi, Keirao, Heirok, Tamenglong and Sekmai. Meanwhile, NPP has sealed Uripok, Chandel and Keishamthong seats while NPF has secured the Phungyar, Tamei and Mao seat. Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) managed to open an account by winning the Langthabal seat.



Manipur Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh has sealed the Thoubal seat defeating his rivals Leitanthem Basanta Singh from the BJP and Iron Lady Irom Sharmila from PRJA.

In Thangmeiband, Khumukcham Joykisan Singh’s decision to leave BJP last month to join the Congress was in fact a boost to the party after he managed to win the battle by defeating Jyotin Waikhom (BJP). In Lilong, Muhammad Abdul Nasir (INC) defeated independent candidate Y. Antas Khan. In Khundrakpam, Thokchom Lokeshwar Singh of the congress emerged victorious by defeating Lairenlakpam Lala Singh of the NPP. Konthoujam Govindas of the congress defeated his closest rival Konthoujam Krishna Kumar Singh (BJP) to secure the Bishnupur seat. Also in Nambol, Congress candidate Nameirakpam Loken Singh defeated his closest rival, Thounaojam Chaoba. Meanwhile, D.D. Thaisii of the congress defeated R. Yuh Jonathan Tao of the BJP to secure the Karong seat.

In Tipaimukh, Dr. Chaltonlien Amo of the congress emerged victorious by defeating Dr. Lallukhum Fimate of the BJP. Km. Akoijam Mirabai Devi (INC) was declared the winner after fighting a tough battle with Sapam Kunjakeswor Singh Keba  of the North east India Development Party (NEIDP).  In Tengnoupal, congress candidate, D. Korungthang defeated BJP’s Yangkholet Haokip to attained the seat.

ALSO READ: Manipur Election Results: IN PICTURES- Election Wave takes Manipur by storm!


Meanwhile, Dr. Sapam Ranjan Singh (BJP) has won the Konthoujam seat defeating his rival, Konthoujam Sharat Singh of the congress. Heikham Dingo Singh (BJP) secured the Sekmai seat defeating his closest rival Khwairakpam Devendro Singh of the congress. The lotus also bloomed in Keirao and Kangpokpi after Lourembam Rameshwor Meetei (BJP) and Nemcha Kipgen (BJP) managed to defeat independent candidates, Md. Nasiruddin Khan and Kharga Tamang respectively. In an important constituency in Manipur, Churachandpur V. Hangkhanlian (BJP) turned the tables by overtaking NPP’s Phungzathang Tonsing in the last minute and eventually attaining it.

In Lamsang, BJP’s candidate Sorokhaibam Rajen defeated his closest rival Wangkheimayum Brajabidhu Singh of the congress. Meanwhile, in Naoriya Pakhanglakpa, Soibam Subhaschandra Singh of the BJP defeated R.K. Anand (INC). In Khurai,  Leishangthem Susindro Meitei (BJP) secured the seat by defeating his rival Dr. Ngairangbam Bijoy Singh of the congress.

Interestingly, Nahakpam Indrajit Singh of BJP stole the limelight after chasing Md. Amin Shah (INC) who was leading all this while and eventually winning it.

In Tamenglong, Samuel Jendai Kamei (BJP) defeated Janghemlung Panmei (NPF) and in Heirok, Thokchom Radheshyam Singh (BJP ) defeated Moirangthem Okendro (INC ).

ALSO READ: Manipur Election Results: Sharmila loses her maiden election in Manipur!


In Uripok, Yumnam Joykumar Singh (NPP) secured the seat by defeating Laishram Nandakumar Singh (INC) and in Keishamthong, NPP’s candidate Langpoklakpam Jayantakumar Singh defeated his closest rival Laisom Ibomcha Singh of the congress. The party is currently leading in Churachandpur. Letpao Haokip (NPP) secured the seat by defeating independent candidate Ts Warngam.


In Phungyar, K. Leishiyo (NPF) emerged victorious after defeating his closest rival, Somi Awungshi (BJP). In Mao, Losii Dikho (NPF) defeated his closest rival, Woba Joram (BJP). Awangbow Newmai (NPF) came out victorious by defeating Z. Kikhonbou Newmai (BJP).


Opening an account in the Manipur elections, LJP managed to win the Langthabal seat. Karam Shyam (LJP) emerged victorious by defeating O. Joy Singh (BJP).

TNT News



Related Posts