Manipur Election Results: Counting on, its Congress versus BJP so far!

Manipur Election Results: Counting on, its Congress versus BJP so far!

The Congress under Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh is facing its toughest challenge yet after a 15-year rule, the results of which will be declared today. The state with 60 assembly seats had a rather unusual election this time with at least one constituency voting thrice following reports of poll rigging. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has vowed to end an economic blockade led by the United Naga Front which has crippled the state’s transport and deprived it of essential supplies. The BJP has accused the Congress of orchestrating the protests calling it “the handiwork of Chief Minister”.

The BJP, which has its best chance of wresting control of the insurgency-hit Northeastern state in years, is also challenged by debutant Irom Sharmila, the activist who last year ended an iconic 16-year long fast against alleged army excesses facilitated by the Armed Forces Special Powers Act or AFSPA, and joined politics pledging to bring change through governance. Her party has the support of the Left and Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party.

As vote counts began in the Northeast Indian state of Manipur early at 8 am on Saturday, excitement runs high among all candidates and people alike. This is how the counting has fared so far:

10.05: Capture

9.49: Human rights activist Irom Sharmila of PRJA is trailing behind by securing just 26 votes in Thoubal.

9.49: Manipur CM Okram Ibobi Singh (INC) is leading over Leitanthem Basanta Singh (BJP) in Thoubal Assembly seat by over 2000 votes.

9.42: Goa: Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar (BJP) trails Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte by 1,700 votes in
Mandrem constituency

9.30: Manipur’s graph takes on a saffron tinge

9.20: Congress takes an early lead in Manipur, Irom Sharmila trailing in Manipur’s Thoubal constituency

7.20: Muscle, money power openly used by parties in Manipur alleges Irom Sharmila ahead of counting of votes

The Congress party’s 15-year rule in the north-eastern state of Manipur seems to be in peril, as exit polls forecast the BJP will likely win the maximum number of seats in the 60-strong Manipur Legislative Assembly election.

Regional parties, among them Irom Sharmila‘s newly-formed People’s Resurgence and Justice Alliance, are expected to claim the remaining seats.

As Per Times Now report, the numbers are as follows


BJP: 5

NPP: 3


Watch this space for more updates



Related Posts