Manipur: Congress MLA and 14 others call it quits, joins BJP

Manipur: Congress MLA and 14 others call it quits, joins BJP

IMPHAL, April 18, 2017: The congress party on Tuesday suffered a major blow after yet another senior party leader Ginsuahau Zou joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Manipur.

Ginsuanhau represents the Singhat assembly constituency in the remote Churachandpur district. It may be mentioned that this is a second such defection witnessed in the state in a span of over a month.

Earlier, Congress MLA, T. Shyamkumar, had joined the BJP after the latter took power in the state. Shyamkumar was sworn in as a cabinet minister.

ALSO READ: Manipur: BJP claims stability prevails in state’s coalition government post health minister’s resignation

With Ginsuanhau’s entry, the BJP-led coalition ministry now has 34 legislators in the 60-member house. The opposition Congress, which won 28 seats in the recent assembly polls, has now 26 MLAs. The BJP won 21 of the 60 seats in the house.

Speculation is doing the rounds that some more Congress MLAs are likely to join the saffron party in the next few days.

Welcoming him at the BJP office on Monday evening, Chief Minister N. Biren Singh said some more Congress MLAs would join the ruling party soon. “I have resigned from Congress and joined BJP today,” Ginsuanhau said during a function at the state BJP office. He was welcomed in the party fold by Chief Minister Nongthombam Biren Singh and Manipur Pradesh BJP president Ksh Bhabananda Singh.

Like losing two congress members was not enough, 14 other party members of the Congress Autonomous District Council from Chandel also followed suit and defected to the BJP.

TNT News with inputs from Agencies



Related Posts