Manipur: 60 elected legislators sworn in

Manipur: 60 elected legislators sworn in

Imphal, March 19: The 60 elected members of the Manipur assembly were sworn in on Sunday.

Earlier, Governor Najma Heptullah appointed V. Hangkhalian the pro-tem Speaker and administered the oath in a simple function at the Raj Bhavan.

The elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) members returned to Imphal on Saturday evening from Guwahati.

The strength of the Congress in the house went down to 27 from its original 28. A Congress legislator, T. Shyamkumar, had joined the cabinet.  On Monday, the coalition ministry headed by N. Biren Singh will undergo a floor test.

Source: IANS




Related Posts