Assam: BJP clinches victory in Dhemaji seat!

Assam: BJP clinches victory in Dhemaji seat!

DHEMAJI Apr13: BJP candidate Ranoj Pegu today won the Dhemaji Assembly by-election in Assam defeating his nearest Congress rival Babul Sonowal by 9,285 votes.

While the BJP candidate polled 75,217 votes, his Congress rival garnered 65,932 votes, the election office here said.

The bypoll was necessitated following the election of BJP MLA Pradan Baruah as MP from Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat.
A total of five candidates were in the fray and the other three candidates are CPI(M)’s Jadu Hazarika, SUCI(C)’s Hem Kanta Miri and Independent Rajkumar Doley.
The BJP had won 60 of 126 Assembly seats and formed the government in partnership with its pre-poll alliance partners last year.
Source: Times of India




Related Posts